4 Things I Tried And Loved In 2016

2016 was an interesting year for me for many reasons, but one “gold star” I can give myself is that I tried many, many new things. Here are the ones that made my life happier, easier, and overall, more fun.

1. Diva Cup

Why, oh why, haven’t I been using this for YEARS. This is probably the best thing that’s happened to women since birth control pills and eyeliner. It makes the annoying, gross, and sometimes, depressing, monthly visitor’s stay much more bearable. Less nervous visit to the restroom in public, no need to run to the drug store, and no more worrying about leaks in the middle of the night!

2. This Face Wash

I am discovering more and more, that even though I am not a makeup snob, my skin is. My super oily yet super dry skin loves this face wash. It gets makeup, dirt, oil, and the day’s stress away in one wash while leaving my skin feeling tingly and fresh. It’s $39, and I only started using it because my awesome mother-in-law gifted it to me, but now that I’ve experienced the magic of mud, there is no going back.

3. Wearing Low-Heeled Shoes

I’ve been addicted to heels since I was in high school, and the addiction was fueled by my self-consciousness about my height. However, on June 1, 2016, I fell and sprained my ankle badly, which forced me to wear low-heels, sneakers, and no-heels for months to follow. I discovered that wearing low-heels shoes make me less cranky, more energetic, and overall happier when I am walking around the city. And, more importantly, I am short with or without heels, yeah, low-heels are now my main thing. These are my two favorite shoes from 2016:

3420256-p-multiview

FitFlops aka the mom shoes 

capture

Lucky Brand Ankle Boots

4. Downton Abbey

Yes, I realize that this show is so 2012, but it brought me so much happiness this year. I can’t even remember how it began, but one day, my husband and I started watching this show together. I never understood why couples watch shows together, but after watching from the very first episode to the very last, now I understand. It’s such a small, typically couple-y thing, that I used to make fun of people who do this with their SOs, but it works. For several reasons:

a. no need to argue over which shows to watch (he likes watching sports, I like watching documentaries)

b. show inspires many topics of conversation (“How long would it take for your to remarry after I got killed in a car accident?”)

c. something to do together on daily basis that requires little energy and prep (dinner, show, and little bit of post-episode discussion)

Currently, our new show to watch together are either going to be “People vs. O.J. Simpson” or “Sherlock Holmes.”

That’s it! Next up is things I tried in 2016 and hated….

 

 

2 thoughts on “4 Things I Tried And Loved In 2016

Leave a Reply

