2017 Goal Number One: Own Less Stuff

Technically, I attempted to get rid of a lot of stuff back in January of 2016, but as I predicted, I failed miserably, so here I go again.

About a year ago, I read and fell in love with the idea of owning less things. I cannot say that my goal is to become a complete minimalist, but I do love the idea of being free of clutter and having less stuff-related stress.

Here are my favorite resources for my journey toward simpler life:

KonMari Method

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by [Kondo, Marie]

I picked up this book because I was having so much issue with being messy, which drove my husband crazy. In a desperate attempt to learn how to get organized, I think I googled, “how to learn to be more organized” something along that line, and ran into this book. I had heard about it (since it was very trendy to read this book back in 2015-2016?), but never had a chance to read it until I personally (and desperately) needed to change myself.

Madeleine Olivia

There are literally thousands of YouTubers, but this one is my favorite. She is not perfect, still on her journey to become a minimalist, and shows honest, unedited clips of her decluttering. Also, a minor detail I love, her SO’s name is Alex — like mine.

Becoming Minimalist Blog 

This blog is just filled with awesome articles on how to become a minimalist, how to deal with world full of stuff, and more. I personally love this post about wearing the same thing every day since that is what I aim to do (except I try to set a weekly wardrobe). I also appreciate how this blog gives me a glimpse of how my (hopefully) new life style will evolve if/when I have children.

My goal is to be able to own less and less stuff, to the point where I can do very little “tidying” and “organizing.” I envision my home to be a place where I can rest, not where my things are everywhere. I did reduce my clothes by about 40% – 50% (threw away/donated about 4 suitcases worth of items), BUT that is only the beginning. I still have a lot of clothes, shoes, books, paper clutter, kitchen items, and everything in between. I am truly excited to see where this journey takes me.

To truly cherish the things that are important to you, you must first discard those that have outlived their purpose. And if you no longer need them, then that is neither wasteful nor shameful. Can you truthfully say that you treasure something buried so deeply in a cupboard or drawer that you have forgotten its existence?  -Marie Kondo

Leave a Reply

